Real Life Characters—The Heart of Your Memoir

maine_antique_girlsFree Teleseminar

Thursday March 7, 2013

4 pm PST   5 pm MST   6 pm CST   7 pm EST 

Join me for my free teleseminar on creating believable characters in memoir.

I’ll be the featured speaker on a Roundtable teleseminar at the National Association of Memoir Writers (NAMW) on how to bring the people in our stories alive so others can know them, too.

Characters — the people in our life stories — are at the heart of it all.
 In fiction, writers give focused attention to creating characters that carry the plot forward. Character motivation is a continuing consideration as characters reveal plot through a novel or short story. In screenwriting, the same is true.

In memoir, our job is different. We aren’t creating characters and deciding their relevant motivations, we’re taking what’s here and turning it into story. We’re writing about central and secondary characters and we’re drawing them in 3-D, so readers get to know them.

Characters — the people in our life stories — are at the heart of it all. Too often in memoir, writers make the assumptions that readers know the characters in their lives simply because they know them so well. They supply a physical overview at their introduction — build, hair color, eye color (e.g., she’s a petite redhead with green eyes) — and leave the characters lying flat on the page. A written photograph is as one-dimensional as a picture in a photo album. Who is this person you know? What is their style? What habits or mannerisms describe them?

I will share some great tips on what it takes to create a character in 3-D and bring them to life on the page.

• You’ll learn about showing character through action, dialog, style, and mannerisms — details that “characterize” and reveal a person.

• Readers need more than the incidents of our lives. You’ll get fresh ideas about the details that matter most and find out when to best include them. You’ll learn creative methods for character studies that supply you with all the details you need to create a character in 3-D.

• You’ll consider yourself as a character, something that’s both obvious and easy to overlook as a memoir writer. We can’t fairly assume readers know us or “see” us simply because we’re the narrator describing our experience.

• Reading as a writer is a vital way to improve your skills, and we’ll look at a few stellar examples of character by some of the best writers in print.

Sign up here.

All you need is a phone line — when you register you’ll receive the log-in information by email. On the day of the teleseminar, log in when it’s time, and join us! Looking forward to “seeing” you there.